Cutting edge tools.

As an aspiring fashion designer, I have begun collecting the basic tools necessary to construct beautiful clothing.  One of the first items on my list was…shears.

Little did I know that there were so many options on the market for beginners to choose from.  My knowledge of scissors was limited to the $3 pair of Fiskars residing in a cluttered drawer of my kitchen.  Until now.  I decided on a wonderful brand called Gingher.

I resolved to purchase the following 6 items as my “basic needs” set:

  1. 45mm Rotary Cutter
  2. 24″ x 36″ Cutting Mat
  3. 4″ Embroidery, Chrome Finish
  4. 8″ Serrated/Knife Edge Dressmaker’s Shears, Chrome Finish
  5. 10″ Knife Edge Bent Trimmers, Chrome Finish
  6. 7.5″ Pinking Shears

I cannot even begin to tell you how pleased I am with the quality of these shears so far.  Not to mention…I built my collection for about 2/3 of the price.  Jo Ann’s carries these shears and if you watch carefully, they run 30% off on their different scissor brands every now and then.

Gingher has both light and medium weight options for their products.  I opted for their chrome finish because I prefer the weight that these provide.  The more weighty scissor helps me with regard to control of the scissor and cut.  Their shears have no trouble cutting through multiple layers of fabric if you so choose to do it this way.  And if you find after months and months of heavy use that your shears are getting a bit dull, you have the option to send them back to be sharpened by Gingher professionals or buying a sharpening stone and doing it yourself at home.

I feel like their scissors are a really high quality product that I will not grow out of too quickly as my skills advance.  If you’re looking to replace your current shears or upgrade to a higher quality.  I would highly recommend you consider this brand to add to your arsenal of butt-kicking design tools.

About Jessica Van Sickle

Aspiring fashion designer and avid style explorer. View all posts by Jessica Van Sickle

Leave a Reply

